Prison Nursing Staff Ridiculed Me For Being in Pain

This is one of many reasons why inmates don’t get medical care.

Damian Delune
4 min readSep 5, 2023
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

My wife will be the first person to tell you, that when it comes to getting medical care, I’m probably the most stubborn person there is. I lived with gallstones for around three years before I finally had no choice other than to get my gallbladder removed. When the surgeon got in there, he found that my gallbladder was folded around my liver, and necrotic. Oops.

Since I’ve been here I have not gotten much better about going to the doctor in a timely manner. Mostly because I learned early on there was no reason to get in a hurry about being seen, but also, the quality of care isn’t anything to write home about.

I was working out in my room last week and slipped in my sweat. In an attempt to keep from hitting my head on my bed, I reached out and instead, hit my hand pretty hard on it. I have broken my hand enough times in the past to know when it’s broken and was pretty sure almost instantly that’s what I’d done.

Instead of going to medical, I asked my friend B for an ace bandage.

The next day, the swelling was much worse and I knew I needed to go to medical. I couldn’t close my hand and anytime something touched it, the pain was off the charts. There…

--

--

Damian Delune

Incarcerated writer sharing real stories about life on the inside, through my wife, Demeter Delune (editor, publisher, promoter, responder)