The Prison Stripped Me Of My Privileges Because They Screwed Up

I lost every perk I have except wall phone privileges because of their mistake.

Damian Delune
6 min readFeb 3, 2024
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash edited by author

This week the prison where I’m housed sunk to a new low. The prison stripped me of my privileges because they screwed up. I’m well aware I wouldn’t be the first inmate this has happened to, and I’m sure I won’t be the last.

I woke up Tuesday morning, sent Demeter our usual good-morning messages, and then called my adopted Mama. While we were on the phone, COs came to my door and informed me I needed to get off the tablet because my privileges were being suspended. I told Mama to text Demi and let her know, that I had no idea why but I wouldn’t be able to message her until I got this issue straightened out.

When I ended the call, a message popped up on the tablet stating my account was suspended for 30 days.

My first reaction, at least in my mind, was to get angry. I knew I had done nothing wrong and at this point, I was just tired of the bullshit. Between not being able to video chat with Demi for two months, GTL’s bullshit of taking over everything financial in the prison and not having their shit together, and being sick of being an innocent man in prison, to begin with, I will admit, the rage came to the surface.

--

--

Damian Delune

Incarcerated writer sharing real stories about life on the inside, through my wife, Demeter Delune (editor, publisher, promoter, responder)