The Top 5 Questions I’ve Been Asked About Being in Jail

Inquiring minds want to know a little bit of everything.

Damian Delune
6 min readNov 1, 2021
Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

I’ve been incarcerated about a month now and have been asked all sorts of questions about my posts here and general information about what it’s like being in jail. A number of these questions have been asked multiple times, so I wanted to put the answers somewhere central for anyone who may be curious. I appreciate the kind words of support you’ve all written. If I didn’t get to your question or you have something you’d like me to write about, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment and I will get to it as quickly as possible.

  1. How are you writing blog posts from jail? Do inmates have internet access? — My wife, Demeter, is who actually composes and posts every article on my account, since October 6, 2021. We talk as much as we can (it’s financially exhausting for sure), I write her handwritten letters, and until recently, we had access to a messaging system within the jail. No, inmates do not have internet access. I would imagine the messaging system through Securus runs on an intranet system, where my outgoing messages are screened by correction officers (COs), then sent via the internet or a data stream. Same for incoming messages, they’re reviewed by COs then distributed to my account.

--

--

Damian Delune

Incarcerated writer sharing real stories about life on the inside, through my wife, Demeter Delune (editor, publisher, promoter, responder)